Open vision bar

Department of Teaching and Learning

Dan Von Handorf
Asst. Superintendent, Teaching & Learning

(937) 499-1422
dan.vonhandorf@ketteringschools.org

Department of Teaching and Learning

Dan Von Handorf, Assistant Superintendent
(937) 499-1422
dan.vonhandorf@ketteringschools.org

Lisa Sorensen, Secretary
(937) 4991422
lisa.sorensen@ketteringschools.org

(A full listing of contact information for Instructional Services Staff Members can be found at the bottom of this information page.)

The Kettering City School District's Teaching & Learning Department is responsible for establishing Board of Education-approved courses of study and textbook adoptions for all academic areas, pre-K-12, that are aligned with Ohio’s Academic Content Standards.

Additionally, the Teaching & Learning Department works hand-in-hand with the district’s teaching professionals, providing professional development opportunities, keeping them up-to-date on effective instructional and assessment practices for the classroom as well as administration, interpretation and analysis of the required statewide Ohio Achievement and Graduation Test programs. The CCIP, Title I and other federal programs, textbook and instructional resource purchases, instructional technology and gifted services are also the responsibilities of the Instructional Services Department.

As part of its educational philosophy, the Kettering City Schools shall attempt to provide all students with an environment which encourages wholesome physical, mental, social, moral, and spiritual growth, and with an education which will enable them to assume responsibilities in present-day society.

We also feel our educational program should be based on the individuality of the student and the student's needs. We shall endeavor to achieve these goals through a flexible educational program in which students can be active participants. Therefore, we shall always strive to educate students as individuals and provide opportunities that will address their individual needs.

Special Education Services are also provided through the Teaching & Learning Department to students with disabilities as defined by the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). These services include preschool programs for special needs children ages three-five; special class/learning centers; individual/small-group instruction; and co-taught classes with a special education teacher and a general education teacher working together to meet the needs of students.


Follow the links below to learn more about the curriculum offered in the Kettering City Schools:
Elementary Education
Middle School Education
High School Education
Art, Music & Physical Education
Special Education Services



Teaching & Learning Staff

Dan Von Handorf, Asst. Superintendent
(937) 499-1422
dan.vonhandorf@ketteringschools.org



Lisa Sorensen, Secretary
(937) 499-1422
lisa.sorensen@ketteringschools.org

 

Valerie Dupler, Coordinator, Elementary Teaching & Learning
937-499-1492
valerie.dupler@ketteringschools.org

 

Dawn Cauldwell, Gifted Education Coordinator
937-499-1491
dawn.cauldwell@ketteringschools.org


Sherri Alexander, Ed.D., Coordinator, Secondary Teaching & Learning
(937) 499-1457
sherri.alexander@ketteringschools.org

 

Maggie Wang, System Analyst/EMIS Coordinator
maggie.wang@ketteringschools.org
(937) 499-1404
 

Roger vanBeysterveldt, Technology Integration Coach
(937) 499-1423
roger.vanbeysterveldt@ketteringschools.org

 

Carrie Hennessy, Ed.D.,  Multi-Tiered Supports Leader
(937) 499-1490
carrie.hennessy@ketteringschools.org

 

Molly Carmosino, State and Federal Grants Specialist
(937) 499-1475
molly.carmosino@ketteringschools.org

 

Sara Wisecup, Secretary, Elementary Education
937-499-1456
sara.wisecup@ketteringschools.org

 

Lisa Kelsey, Secretary, Secondary Education
937-499-1455
karen.walling@ketteringschools.org


Special Education

Jenny Smith, Supervisor
(937) 499-1435
jenny.smith@ketteringschools.org

Jennifer Landess, Secretary, Special Education Department
(937) 499-1435
jennifer.landess@ketteringschools.org


Technology Services

Chris Merritt, Chief Technology Officer
(937) 499-1408
chris.merritt@ketteringschools.org

Monica Mantia, Help Desk and Data Entry Specialist
(937) 499-1408
monica.mantia@ketteringschools.org


 

Forms